10 Common Uses of the ‘Like’ Button on Social Media

Are you confused about the real purpose or the appropriate use of the ‘Like’ button on social media? C’mon, don’t be shy, admit it. You have wondered why your best friend clicked ‘Like’ after you posted an obituary of a family member on your wall. You have shouted ‘Is s(h)e for real? Doesn’t s(h)e understand what grief means? Whoever rejoices at the death of another person?’

Maybe you even went to the extreme to delete or block them from your wall. Sorry, you are wrong and before you delete me, hear me out.

The word – Like – is one of the most misunderstood words in the English lexicon. I said word and not verb because it is at once a noun, an adjective, a preposition, an adverb, a conjunction, and an interjection. Beyond that, it is the defining structure of an idiom and a distinguishing feature of most similes. Here is one case of a simple four-letter-word packing an extremely confusing or sometimes devastating punch.

On the evolution of the word ‘Like’ in the sociosphere; it is one of the youngest addition to a prominent feature called plugins. Plugins add features to your browsing experience. title=”Plugins”>http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plug-in_(computing)

Facebookadopted the orphan in April 2010 as a plugin to help you show interest in a particular content. You can forgive the ‘Like’ button for being misunderstood because it shares the same number of letters with other emotive words such as love and hate.

It is one of the most favourite plugins on social media and feature in different ways from one social media to another. Social media websites loves it because it is an ambiguous way of saying many things. Here are ten favourite uses of the‘Like’ button on social media.

    1

Simply put, I Like what you’ve posted.

    2

I agree with your thought.

    3

I have noticed this and I am thinking about it.

    4

I empathise with this post, picture, video or meme.

    5

I feel you.

    6

I should have written something, but heh, don’t tell anybody, but my lexis and structure is so weak and I hate to embarrass myself before your erudite friends.

    7

I am just doing a quick browsing. I don’t have the time to comment now, maybe later.

    8

This is just to show that I’ve seen your posting but I am too busy right now to comment.

    9

I am watching this thread.

    10

I sympathise with you.

Now that you have seen the ten common uses of the ‘Like’ button, let us hope you can forgive your friend who liked it when you announced the death of a family member for they know what they meant. Next week, we will attempt to see how like transforms from one part of speech to the other. If you have any comments, please put them here or on our Facebook page.

Like Button

Keep on liking – its legit!

Leave a Reply

