MEME IS IN THE EYE OF THE BEHOLDER

asimoko

Have you ever seen a quote, a picture or video with a caption or text that makes you feel – ooh, that’s so cool and witty; I wish I’d done that? I so often have. I have always been amazed by the capacity of the human mind to make beauty out of the mundane, to confuse and also amuse.

So what are memes? My online lexicographer – dictionary.com describes memes as – “a cultural item that is transmitted by repetition in a manner analogous to the biological transmission of genes.” Social media is awash with thought-provoking memes, maybe we didn’t know they were called memes.

My buddy Zach Falsetto hooked me up with knowyourmeme.com. It has loads of memes and content explaining their origin and popularity.

Like Ms. Beauty, the essence of memes could be in the eye of the beholder. What titillates one person may offend another. See…

View original post 53 more words

Leave a Reply

